Open Letter to the Community from Principal Gianotti

To The Greece Athena High School Community,

For the past 10 years I have had the incredible privilege of serving the Greece Central School District community in a wide range of roles. During this decade, Greece has become like home to me.  As a teacher, I fell in love with this community and the unbelievable potential each of our students possess.  As an Assistant Principal, I developed a deep appreciation for the faculty and staff we have that dedicates themselves to excellence in education, and the mission of ensuring all students learn at high levels.  Over the past three years it has been my privilege and honor to serve as the Principal of Greece Athena High School. During this time, our students and staff have consistently impressed me with their pursuit of excellence, their infectious energy and the continuing desire to impact the world. These past three years have truly been a blessing and an honor in my life.

Last night, the Board of Education received a letter of resignation from me, effective June 30, 2014. I will be staying through Graduation before moving on. It is with a sense of bitter sweet emotion that my family and I have made this decision.  Beginning later this summer, I will assume a position overseeing leadership, service and community development at my church, The Father’s House, in North Chili, New York.  Although, this summer will mark a new chapter in my family’s journey, Greece Athena will always hold a special place in my heart.  I am confident that Athena will be in good hands moving forward.  As a school and a district we have reoriented our focus to ensuring that every graduate is prepared for success in college and careers in the 21st century.  Our school improvement process is strong and the culture and climate has been energized in tremendously positive and exciting ways over the past few years.  Graduation rates and credit accrual rates continue to increase, and students are being deliberately challenged to stretch themselves and take rigorous courses.

Over the next few days you will be receiving a Connect-Ed phone call from District Office expressing interest in receiving your input by way of a survey regarding what you are looking for in the next principal of Athena High School.  We will be sending out a link to this survey in a future email.  We will also post this survey on our school website.  Additionally, we will be looking for parent and student volunteers to serve on an interview committee.  If you are interested in being a part of this committee please contact the Athena High School main office at 966-4043.

Although this has been a tremendously difficult decision, I leave innumerable fond memories. I have learned more than I would have ever imagined and my character has been profoundly shaped and molded by each of you.  Thank you for the wonderful privilege it has been to serve as your principal these past three years.

 Jason Gianotti, Principal

This entry was posted in Staff Communication, Student Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

